hardynova's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sleepless night

Yay, my brother's all moved out. He's so lucky to have someone like me around to build his furniture though. Was easy though; just a book shelf and a little cabinet stand thing with doors for a microwave. Now I have the apartment all to myself. I'm afraid I'll be a bit lonely though.

Well for the first time since I moved out of my parents' house, my mother actually spent the night at MY place. By the way, this little anecdote has nothing to do with the title of this entry, it's the next one that does. Anyway, I quite liked having her over and my couch was fairly comfortable enough to sleep on. I did however have a sudden problem with my tv/captioner/vcr/dvd/cable hookup that resulted in me fiddling with wires for far too long. But the next day I called my dad and he told me which order everything should be in and all is well.

A few days ago I rented five movies and had only the time to watch one (Jackie Chan's Gorgeous) until last night when I finally got to see Ringu. Now this movie is what caused my sleepless night. Movies don't generally scare the shit out of me but this one legitimately did. Not only was the movie itself frightening, but the fact was, I was alone, at night and watching a TAPE. If you know nothing about this movie, I'll fill you in as much as i can without giving anything away. First off, I haven't seen the ring because i wanted to see this first. As far as I know the Ring isn't really a direct remake so I don't know how similar they are, but their basic premise is the same. There's a cursed video floating about that if you watch it, you die a week later. In Ringu (and I think also in the Ring) after having finished the tape, the watcher also receives a phone call. I swear to you, I unplugged my phone. Not because I thought I was going to die, but if by some coincidence the phone rang after I stopped the tape, I think I would have had a heart attack. Also in my bedroom there's a TV and after having seen the end of the movie, it made it really hard for me not to constantly stare at the thing. So yeah, this is probably the first time since I was a small child that I was so frightened I could hardly sleep. All from watching a movie. If I'd seen it in a theater though, I know I wouldn't have been quite so freaked out.

1:59 p.m. - August 05, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
eon
caterwaul
adamw