hardynova's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A four a.m. blitz to the fountain of youth, is that all you have?

For some reason I can't sleep so I decided to do some much needed cleaning up of my diary, mainly archiving old entries and clearing out links to diaries that either don't exist anymore or have become password protected. It's strange to see the sorry state my diary has become since its inception so long ago. This is partly due to the fact that I no longer have gold membership and haven't had it in a long time. I miss my old background even though I know it took awhile to load. I probably should overhaul the whole thing even though I've said that before many times but have been too lazy to do it. Hell, I'm too lazy to write in here as aoften as I used to. But since I'm basically stuck at my parents' place for the next couple of days, I might as well work on redesigning this thing.

I was taking a summer course a couple weeks ago and just found out I got a B in it. So yay, one class I can sratch off my list of "core curriculum requirements" and in a month I shall finish off with another. You know, I was looking at Manhattan School of Music's required courses for their undergrads and lo and behold they don't have all these science and language classes that I have to take. Bah. That's what I get for going to a University where they want me to have a well rounded education. I'm planning on applying to Manhattan for a Master's degree along with a few other places. This will be my final year of college and thus my most important in regards to future studies. I must spend this whole next year preparing for graduation and post graduate stuff, like taking the GRE which should be fun. I wonder how difficult the math section will be for me considering the fact that by the time I take the test I won't have had a math class in FIVE YEARS. I don't know whether I should try to learn trig all over again or just not bother. But as far as going to grad school, it seems that for some reason, I've developed this intense urge to go to New York. I'm not really sure how this has come about. I'll go where ever I get accepted, but New York is top priority, particularly Manhattan School of Music. Previously I'd wanted Juiliard, but since Corigliano basically retired, it's not quite so high on my list. Now, my biggest hope is to study with Richard Danielpour. But if by some miracle I get into Manhattan, but don't study with Danielpour, then hey, there's still a bunch of other great composers in the faculty so i definitely wouldn't feel cheated in any way.

It's strange that for so long I wanted to get out of Menomonee Falls and move to Milwaukee, I didn't think I'd want to get out of Milwaukee and get to New York. It makes me wonder that if I do end up living there that I won't simply yearn for some place else (probably London). I'd put England among the top places for me to study except I couldn't find any grad schools I particularly wanted to go to. I do know that I'll need to make another trip there again, I really loved it there. I just wanted to maybe have a chance to be there long enough to not feel like a complete alien everywhere I went. At least long enough to be able to able to hand money to the cashier without having to figure out the currency.The whole week I was in England I pretty much avoided using the coins because I was too slow at recognizing them. The five pence pieces look just like dimes and it's really disorienting. And why's Elizabeth II on EVERYTHING? I don't know, I guess I'm jsut so used to the idea of having a bunch of different presidents on my money that to see the same picture on every bill and coin is kind of redundant to me. But then again, at least English money has the sense to be different colors for different amounts, so that's in its favor. anyway, I digress...

Summerfest was quite nice this year. I saw a violinist named Eileen Ivers who put on an excellent show. This is not classical musis but very much a blend of Irish folk music and jazz and rock. She had a blue, electric violin and could easily go toe to toe with Jimi Hendrix if she had the opportunity. Also saw Lewis Black who put forth a full 45-50 minutes of hilarity. He performed twice that day and even though I went to the earlier show (5 pm) the tent he was performing in was packed. I'd say somewhere around 500 people. I don't know, I'm really bad at estimating that sort of thing.

Also, had a family party for my brother's college graduation. Lots of fun. Got to play with my little second cousins.

Anyway, it's 3:58 am now and I'm wiped.

Good night!

3:34 a.m. - July 08, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
eon
caterwaul
adamw